Feelings are not God

Piper says it all right here: to us Western thinkers.

Samuel at Gilgal

Finally AliveJohn Piper:

“My feelings are not God. God is God. My feelings do not define truth. God’s word defines truth. My feelings are echoes and responses to what my mind perceives. And sometimes – many times – my feelings are out of sync with the truth. When that happens – and it happens every day in some measure – I try not to bend the truth to justify my imperfect feelings, but rather, I plead with God: Purify my perceptions of your truth and transform my feelings so that they are in sync with the truth.” (Finally Alive: What Happens When We Are Born Again?)

View original post

Categories: Humankind in Distress, The Message of the Bible | Tags: , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Feelings are not God

  1. Blog Reader

    And so sad when our modern day pharisees call instinct “feelings”! What a difference there is between the 2! One is from God, the other from the mind of man.

  2. Blog Reader

    How do I know that the Holy Spirit is of God? Because the Holy Spirit *is* God. You were unaware of this? Instinct / intuition / innate knowledge (Holy Spirit) is completely apart from emotion / feelings, but religion addicts disregard and dismiss Holy Spirit by mislabeling it “feeeeelings”. (And I acknowledge that plenty of weirdos have been known to mislabel their feelings as Holy Spirit, so that’s also a problem.)

    If *your* answer to the question “how do you know?” is always “‘cuzz the bye bull tells mee so” then it becomes clear why you have such a compulsive reliance on the idea of the bible being 100% God. It’s a comforting way to prove yourself right to your own satisfaction 100% of the time.

    Let’s look at the Piper quote:

    “My feelings do not define truth. God’s word defines truth.” I think this goes without saying. And notice he says God’s word, not man’s word. Man has slipped some words into the bible. I’ll get into how I know that next:

    “I try not to bend the truth to justify my imperfect feelings” .. We bend God’s truth of man when we allow our imperfect desire for a perfect instruction manual to overshadow our innate and acquired knowledge that man ruins every good thing.

    Let’s say you, Justin, are listening to a pastor preach, and he says something that just doesn’t sound right to you. You’d go to the bible and check the pastor’s words against the scripture text. When I, Blog Reader, read the bible, and something just doesn’t sound right to me (too suspiciously convenient for man, too man-like) I will check the bible’s words against what I know of man (that he is beyond imperfect, the vilest of beings) and I see that of course, once again, man has got his grubby little paws into something that is otherwise good.

    • Well, thank you for the conversation, but I have to point out that you, too, are a man… and as one of those, seem to be in some sense exempting yourself from the wretchedness you describe. In other words, you seem to trust the reading of what you think is God’s Word within yourself, but not the proven, objective Word of God external to yourself – the one He gave perfectly through imperfect men (2 Pet. 1:19-21).

      What’s so trustworthy about your own inner-senses? How do you know you’re receiving a true impression from instinct?

  3. Blog Reader

    Instinct is not what tells me man is wretched. You don’t need much assistance in figuring that out! 😛 And by the way not only do I know I am wretched myself, I know I’m not God. Once you know that, you know you don’t know anything else.

  4. Blog Reader

    Why are you so certain God wants you to be certain?

    • Because He’s given such a clear Word about Himself – a Word He values above all else, as in Psalm 138:2 “I will bow down toward Your holy temple and give thanks to Your name for Your constant love and truth. You have exalted Your name and Your promise above everything else.”

      But I don’t want to let you off the hook here: the burden of proof is on you to show how you have certainty that the word you trust within yourself is trustworthy and certain? I’ll tell you this much – the word (of instinct) within me tells me to trust the written, inspired Word of God above all other revelations. So who’s to say who’s right – you or me?

      • Blog Reader

        “Who’s to say who’s right?” Now you’ve got it. Very good. I absolutely agree that God is the only One who knows.

        I accept that God might intend for some people to believe the bible is 100% God and for others not to.

        Think about how many times you’ve changed your mind, or come to a new realization since becoming a Christian. The intricacies of your faith have been ever evolving. But the important stuff has stayed constant. Where you are now is: Justin can’t be wrong about the book because the book says Justin is right about the book. And there, it becomes clear why you need the book to be right. It’s because you need the book to be right.

        • Nah – you’re a sophist, but your trust in your own revelation is leading in the circles you impose on me. But hey, we’re friends from afar, no hard feelings man. You’re my first blog reader after all!

      • Wow! Great to find a post with such a clear meegass!

So what are your thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

