The Night America Sat Up in the Morgue Freezer: Thank you Rand Paul

The national body was  being slid into the morgue freezer: the President, following in the steps of his predecessor, had been declaring the Constitution null and void: this Administration may need to, and is allowed to target Americans on American soil for execution; no arrest, no trial by a jury of peers, no judge – just your President making a secret decision that you might be dangerous. Screw the Bill of Rights, the globe is our war-zone.

The President might need to decide to kill you by a flying robot with a missile.

1984 on steroids. The American people yawned, looking for another television fix.

And then there was Rand Paul.Rand Paul  The national body sat bolt upright just before being slid into the morgue freezer. Eyes wide open. Big breath of air. A gasp.

No, Mr. President. You may not break the law with impunity. We will not sit idly by and watch you shred the last of our Constitution. We will be heard.

Nearly 13 hours of filibustering on the Senate floor, and I remembered. I remembered what America was supposed to be. I remembered that although we’ve been a very dark nation in many ways (Native Americans and Africans, etc), our founding ideals were always higher. We may never have lived up to them, but many of our ancestors have tried.

The spirit of America has fought and struggled to break through the bounds of human limitation and mediocrity. We have been, many times, a shining beacon of hope for many poor and oppressed people. Imperfect, but still the best country in the world.

And an imperfect man stood last night on the Senate floor and reminded me of these things. He reminded me that not every person in Washington D.C. is a sold-out con artist. He reminded me that although our country has been lost to her enemies, that we will not go quietly into the night (pardon the cliched tone, I’m not ashamed of it right now).

Thank you, Rand Paul. I supported your Senate campaign, and have worried from time to time that your soul was being stolen in D.C. You made me proud to be an American. A Constitutionalist. Thank you, Senators who stood with Rand. I hope you have the courage to stand with him in the days to come, because many of us will stand with you on the right side of history, in the face of overwhelming evil.

I’m grateful to be an American. God has been very patient and kind to our nation.

I’ll leave us with some quotes from the historic filibuster of Rand Paul March 6, 2013.

Taking a stand: “I have allowed the president to pick his political appointees…But I will not sit quietly and let him shred the Constitution.”

On Obama: “He was elected by a majority, but the majority doesn’t get to decide who we execute.”

On Obama’s civil liberties flip-flop: “I think its also safe to say that Barack Obama of 2007 would be right down here with me arguing against this drone-strike program if he were in the Senate.”

On the Senate: “If there were an ounce of courage in this body I would be joined by other senators… saying they will not tolerate this.”

On the Constitution and the law: “I’m not saying that anyone is Hitler, don’t misunderstand me. But what I am saying that is…when a democracy gets it wrong, you want the law to be in place.”

On making a point: “This will be a blip in his nomination process. But I hope people will see it as an argument for how important our rights are.”

On White House “kill list”: “The people on the list might be me.”

At around 8:09 p.m. ET, Paul asked Americans,

“Are you so afraid that you are willing to trade your freedom for security?”

Thanks for reading,

-Justin

P.S. Hey Christians, please pray for our President, and our leaders in Washington.

Quotes taken from theblaze.com

Categories: Humankind in Distress, Personal Stuff, Understanding the Culture | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

So what are your thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

