Celebrating Ten Years Since I was Born Again

Yes sir, yes ma’am. Ten years ago I was a lost little puppy, trying to punish God for having created me. I did everything I knew how to hurt God and hurt people, yet always had a spark of conscience to hold me back from all-out destruction. Thank the Lord Jesus for that! When He saved me, I didn’t even know it for a while. I just began to realize after some time that I was changed, my heart was new, and that I had a deep love for His Word. Around that time, I began to flourish in my creative thinking.

For years my mind had been suppressed by my sinful “freedoms” I was exercising. As the veil of death and darkness lifted, I began to write a lot of poetry and dream journaling. Much of it was unsophisticated and charmless, but some of it is actually very meaningful to me. In celebration of ten years of true life in Christ Jesus, I will share with you a little bit of the writing I did at that time. I’ll post these memoirs at least a couple times in the near future.

In honor of the Holy Spirit of God who saved me by giving me new life in the Son of God…

Agnes Holloway

She saw angels…

I believed her when I looked into her eyes,

All the neighbors told me to skip her door:

A crisp baby blue cottage with cream trim…

She must’ve been over a century’s hill.

There upon autumn’s eve, revelation and the tide of wisdom rose.

5/3/2003 by Justin Esposito

Deep Exploration

I’ve had no difficulty finding new trap doors,

Only half finished painting the walls,

And a new depth for which I stride…

5/3/2003 by Justin Esposito

Some haikus in honor of the glorious predator:

Northern Goshawk

Claws of fury flash

Red eyes gleam intelligence

Ceasing rabbit’s life

Goshawk

Magnificent bird

Cut the air and spy the field

Rodents cringe with fear

Swoop like lightning strikes

Razor claws dig into flesh

Goshawk reigns above

Sun darkened by wings

Look up, oh critters of earth

Demise from the skies

Brown speckled feathers

Handsome hawk your wings spread wide

Your perch, sacred space

Her hunting scream heard

Her razor talons flexing

Her humor is death

Why do the winds blow?

How high can the white sky flow?

Yes, the goshawk knows

4/2003 by Justin Esposito

Thanks for reading,

-Justin

Categories: Artistic Creations, Meaning Woven into Nature | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Celebrating Ten Years Since I was Born Again

  1. Blog Reader

    Happy Birthday to you. Beautiful poems. I might even like them more than some of the more current ones you’ve shared with us here on your blog. You’re “too good” a poet now πŸ˜‰

    You mentioned dream journaling too… do you think God still talks to us through dreams? Did your dreams change in any way after you were reborn?

  2. Hallelujah! Selah! I don’t remember the day i was. It was about three years ago though. but it was Glorious! It’s been the roughest road since. but His mercy endures forever. I am thankful for his loving kindness!

    • It could have been when we were all together at Tony’s house that one night when we listened to that Paul Washer sermon?

  3. I was saved after that. The Paul washer sermon opened the door, but I was saved the day we watched that Conrad Mbewe sermon on total depravity. I dont know the day or the hour but i know it was amazingly glorious! πŸ˜€ God is Good!

So what are your thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

